IP TV wars (can we switch off the cable?)


Yes, Apple will be on your TV, either now or soon enough. 
This may not happen only if no one else is able to do a better integration job, among content device and UI before their dominance in digital content extends to own TV as well.
With a good analogy, Gregory Huang describes it as “Apple is stretching the size of the screen from iPods to iTV”.

TV is going to be the turf of strong competition: you can see device makers (more the big TV names Sony LG Samsung, than the Roku’s, I reckon); the usual technology suspects Amazon Google Apple Microsoft, with some interesting entries like Netflix; and who knows if cable or TV operators will have a say.

Competition thus is fine, and I am not sure I have a feeling for what the scenario will be in 3/5 years; what I know is that current TV is outdated, and we’re decreasing our time with it.

When I think of what we do with television, gaming is one, while there is a decreasing number of things I (we, as a family) do watch, as long as we do not bridge and include internet content already.
The main content segments that would affect my TV decisions (and yes, I am not the average guy maybe), in no particular order, are:

  1. news
  2. kids
  3. movies
  4. sport
  5. serials

Of these, in the scenario of the new TV that I consider, most segments are already available in IP format thru various services (Hulu, Netflix, Amazon) and more will be soon; sport is very fragmented; the only area that was still mostly absent is kids, but interestingly enough the Apple announcement included Disney in their allies.

So: when can we switch off the cable? (I think I wish we could plan for that….)

About cmalaguzzi

I am a Mktg and Biz Dev Exec, with a passion for technology. Love to spend time on IT strategy, innovation, partner ecosystems, business productivity.
This entry was posted in My.Lifestyle, Technology/IT and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to IP TV wars (can we switch off the cable?)

  1. Pingback: Ping?! and how iTunes s*cks | Cmalaguzzi's Weblog

Leave a Reply

