Ping?! and how iTunes s*cks


Let me elaborate on my yesterday post (Apple & IP TV): Apple has been so far successfully leveraging iTunes to extend its dominance in digital content, and supporting its devices (iPod, iPad, iPhone, iTV etc.).
People do tend to own multiple devices, and if they are using Apple stuff they tend to love it, or better – they’re stuck but happy to be so.

Now, as much as the devices are cool and great combinations of cool design, great UI, ease of use that surprises you (how comes no one – Microsoft! – hasn’t done it before….), existing technologies like multi-touch eventually made useful (!) – iTunes s*cks.

I completely agree with Wade Roush as he also describes why it is so. iTunes is a cumbersome and disagreeable piece of software, I hate using it when I have to.

Now, on Ping then: Wade says that since it is built on iTunes, it will suffer the same weaknesses, and I tend to agree (because i Hate iTunes, ok, I have not seen Ping yet), I read with gusto that Steve Jobs unsubscribed from it 🙂

About cmalaguzzi

I am a Mktg and Biz Dev Exec, with a passion for technology. Love to spend time on IT strategy, innovation, partner ecosystems, business productivity.
This entry was posted in Internet, Technology/IT and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

